2017 Māori and Pasifika Awards Evening

On Thursday 26 October, HBHS celebrated all of the wonderful achievements of our Māori and Pasifika students in 2017.  If ever there is an evening where the audience is treated to displays of passion, pride and talent honed by hundreds of hours of work and practice it is this one.  The audience was greeted in stunning style with a combined performance by our HBHS and HGHS Kapa Haka group Te Maurea Whiritoi and our Pasifika Performance Group and later in the evening, Kees Anderson and Reid Bensemen combined their considerable musical talents in a very special performance.  We celebrated all that our Māori and Pasifika students had achieved in their academic, cultural, service and sporting endeavours in 2017, and present the award winners with pride. Kia Kaha to you all.

Academic Awards Junior Winner:     Trent Campbell (Year 10) Cook Island Māori

Academic Awards Senior Winner:    Kelvin Oosten (Year 13) Ngāti Pikiao, Ngāti Kahungunu

Service Awards Junior Winner:          Jone Curulala (Year 10) Fiji

Service Awards Senior Winner:         Atawhai Cowley (Year 13) Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Hine, Samoa

Cultural Awards Junior Winner:        Dylan Heta (Year 10) Ngāti Maniapoto me Ngāti Raukawa

Cultural Awards Senior Winner:        Kees Anderson (Year 13) Ngāpuhi

Kapa Haka Awards:

Tama Kaha Certificate for greatest improvement to Manaia Ngataki-Matthews Waikato

Tama Manaaki Certificate for most supportive to Lance Taitoko Ngāti Maniapoto

Whatukura Mareikura Trophy for leadership and skill to Te Matakana Dunn Tainui

Tama Toa Trophy for service to Tamihana Te Aho Ngāti Pahauwera

Leadership Awards Junior Winner:   Livi Hirawani (Year 10) Tainui, Samoa

Leadership Awards Senior Winner:  Caleb Muntz (Year 13) Waikato, Fiji

Sporting Awards Junior Winner:       Noah Hotham (Year 10) Samoa

Sporting Awards Senior Winners:     Quinn Tupaea (Year 13) Tainui and Raiki Willison (Year 13) Tainui

Special Awards:

He Tohu Manaaki to Tamihana Te Aho (Year 13) Ngāti Pahauwera

The Good Samaritan Award to Atawhai Cowley (Year 13) Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Hine, Samoa


Back to News