HBHS Debating Team win Waikato Bay of Plenty Championships

The HBHS Senior Debating team of Timothy Ng, Jacob Cheatley and Alex Le Comte won the Waikato Bay of Plenty Regional Russell McVeagh Competition this weekend, defeating Tauranga Boys' College in the semi-final and Waikato Diocesan in the final.  A total of 16 teams from the region took part, and the HBHS team was the last one standing, despite having one of their team members away representing the school in rowing.  In addition, Alex (pictured, right) was selected for the National Competition and will represent the region in Wellington at a later date.  Congratulations to the team on this excellent result and thanks and congratulations to Mr Kevin Brown and Mrs Natasha Bastion for their efforts in supporting HBHS Debating.


Back to News