HBHS Inline Hockey team win New Zealand title

Last Friday, the HBHS Inline Hockey team, along with Teacher in Charge Mrs Joanne Wallace, headed south to Nelson to compete in the New Zealand Secondary Schools Inline Hockey Tournament. The team ranged in ages and experience from Year 13's who have previously represented New Zealand all the way down to Year 9's new to both the school and the sport. The schedule was intense, with the team playing six 30 minute matches on the first day in order to qualify for the semi-finals, where the team faced and beat Shirley Boys' High School. The final was against local rival Hillcrest High School, and the match was a tense one, with the scores tied at 2 - 2 with minutes to spare. Fortunately, HBHS was the team that scored the all-important decider to take the title. Congratulations to the team of Jeremy Ashdown, Billy Graham, Jeremy Hamilton-Horne, Wynn Craven, Dylan Coombes, Kahurangi Te Huia, Kealey Stark-Fisher, Connor Robertson and Brad Kivell and a huge thank you to the coaches Tony Ashdown and Old Boy Hayden Goudswaard.

Back to News