HBHS Junior Waterpolo Team is our latest Waikato Champion

After a long and gruelling season that started on 29 July, the Junior waterpolo teams competed in the final rounds of the Waikato Secondary Schools competition at Waterworld, Te Rapa.  The Junior B team finished fifth overall in the competition after an epic battle against  St Paul’s Collegiate, winning the last game of the season.

The Junior A team progressed throughout the entire competition unbeaten, to face Fraser High School in the semi-final round.  They beat the Fraser team convincingly with a score of 25-0.  On Wednesday, 18 November, the A team faced St John’s College in the finals.  Showing their superior skill and stamina, the team beat St Johns 9-5.

The entire team, consisting of Alfie Stevens (goal keeper and captain), Nathan Wilson, Samuel Eddy, Oliver Houghton, Jacob Parnham, Jay Streatfield, Sam Ratima, Raukawa Jefferies, Cameron Bevan and Alexander Deo, played exceptionally well during the season.  We are very proud of Oliver Houghton, Alex Deo and Alfie Stevens who were named as Outstanding Players of the Tournament. Samuel Eddy was deservedly crowned as the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

A huge thank you to the head-coach, Callum Maxwell, an HBHS Old Boy and all the parents and supporters.  We wish the team all the best as they travel to Auckland for the NISS completion at the end of  November.


Back to News