HBHS Senior Debating Team win Russell McVeagh Competition

Our Senior Debating team of Soumil Singh, Visharn Sathiyakumar and Stephen Burroughs were convincing winners of the Russell McVeagh Debating Competition on Saturday, despite losing their first round in controversial circumstances.  The team rallied and won their successive debates by considerable margins to finish top school in the Waikato region.  In addition, Soumil Singh was named in the Waikato side to contest the New Zealand Competition, with Visharn named as a reserve.  Congratulations once more to the team on an excellent win, and thanks and congratulations to Mr Kevin Brown and Mrs Natasha Bastion for their support of HBHS Debating.

Back to News