HBHS clean sweep at Waikato Secondary Schools Chess Competition

The Waikato Secondary Schools Chess Championship was held this past weekend and HBHS entered two teams. Our A team consisting of  Eushin Kang, Michael Lin, Shilong Yang (Captain) and Joel Crombie won the tournament with our B team of Nathanael Loy, Sean Clark, Max Stephens and Drishya Patel being placed 2nd against the first Teams of all the other schools.

Particular congratulations go to Eushin, Joel and Max who all scored 100% and were awarded board prizes.

By winning this tournament HBHS has won the right to compete in the NZ National Interschools Tournament, to be held during the upcoming school holidays.

Photo:  The HBHS team received their certificate from Tournament organiser, Mr Gary Judkins.

Back to News