HBHS win ChemQuest for the third time

The HBHS Number 1 team took out the top prize for the third time in five years at the University of Waikato’s ChemQuest challenge held last week on campus. First place went to Year 12 students Immo Frank, Patrick Dowd and Joshua Monteiro. The students were awarded the ChemQuest trophy and $150. The annual chemistry quiz gives Year 12 chemistry students the chance to put their chemistry knowledge to the test in a pop quiz-style challenge.  Second place went to Te Puke College and third place was awarded to the HBHS Number 2 team of Alex Chen, Jason Mace and Varin Malthotra.  ChemQuest is sponsored by the Waikato branch of the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry, Hill Laboratories and the University of Waikato’s Faculty of Science and Engineering. Thank you to the University of Waikato for this report, and to Julie Frank for the photos of our winners.  Congratulations to our teams and thanks and congratulations to Mr Graham Billing for his support of our ChemQuest teams.

Back to News