Honours Assembly on Wednesday

On Wednesday, during Senior Assembly, the following students were recognised for their achievements at the Term 3 Honours Assembly.  We congratuate the following students on their accomplishments.

Honours awards in the form of badges, caps and blazer pockets, are special recognition of the dedication and commitment shown by elite sportsmen at HBHS.

Rugby :

Honours Caps - 25 games for 1st XV Rugby:

Elijah Ale

Jahrome Brown

Orbyn Leger

Nick McCurran

Duke Nginingini

Aaron Preest

Viliami Tuipulotu

First Team Badge – 10 games for 1st XV Rugby:

Kalani Beattie

Poasa Cama

Harrison Courtney

Joe Coventry

Matthew Lansdown

Jermayne Maika

Josef Meek

James Parton

Sevu Reece

Chey Riki-Hamana

Nic Souchon

Shanan Tomuri



Honours Cap – 70 games for Senior Premier Basketball:

Dalton Berry

First Team Badge – 30 games for Senior Premier Basketball:

Sam Meiklejohn

Hamish McDonald

Silas Taylor



Honours Cap – 40 games for 1st XI Hockey:

Declan Keaney

Christopher Rees-Gibbs

Kieran Wells

First Team Badge – 14 games for 1st XI Hockey:

Sam Brennan

Johnny Brough

Michael Fu

Ryan McLaughlin

Ethan Martin

Tim Nield



Honours Cap – 50 games for 1st XI Football:

Paul Clout

Cade Fleming

Blair Pennell

Logan Rogerson

Sebastien Vanneste

Ryan Watson

Matthew Wheeler

First Team Badge – 14 games for 1st XI Football:

David Brennan

Stafford Dowling

Christopher Goodwin

Liam Hayes

Ciaron Lannon

Reid McLeay

At HBHS, the highest  honours award is that of a Blazer Pocket.  Blazer Pockets are presented toYear 12 or 13 students who represent  New Zealand at this highest Secondary school level whilst a member of our school first team.

Nick Reddish – NZ U19 Cycling

Ryan Christiansen – NZ U19 Cycling

Jordan Marshall – Youth Olympics 2014 (Wrestling)

Jordan and Aidan Sarikaya were presented certificates on behalf of the NZ Olympic Committee for representing their country at the recent Youth Olympic Games held in China. Competing at international level is a significant achievement for any sporting individual, we congratulate both Jordan and Aidan today and look forward to tracking their careers in the coming years.


HBHS had 4 players selected in the Super 8 Rugby Tournament Team for 2014. 3 of the boys, Jahrome Brown, Solomone Tukuafe and Ayden Johnstone  are currently at the NZ Secondary Schools Camp in Rotorua. Legin Hotham received his badge of recognition today from Mrs Hassall.

Finally, we wish Ryan, Nick and their cycling team the best of luck as they head off to Levin for the National Teams Cycling Championships. The cyclists have themselves carved a formidable reputation over recent years, and they have been working extremely hard to add to that this weekend.


Back to News