HBHS Chess Team win National Power Chess Title

Teacher in Charge of Chess, Mr Graham Nolan, reports on our team's National title.  This is the first time HBHS has won a National title in Chess, and we congratulate the team on this wonderful result.

Having placed 3rd in the NZCF NZ Secondary School Chess Championships during the school holidays, last weekend our Chess players travelled to Christchurch for the quicker, more exciting Chess Power version of the game. Played with only 15 minutes on each player’s clock and with only the best 4 results counting toward the team’s total, the Chess Power National event is the culmination of numerous regional trials held throughout the year and comprises an interschool section and an individual tournament.

The Friday Team event was an outstanding success for HBHS as we won the Championship ahead of defending Champions (and longtime holders), Mt Roskill Grammar School. Michael Lin was our best player, scoring an impressive 8/9 whilst the rest of the team scored 6 points each. This is our first-ever gold medal in any form of the game and is the culmination of lots of hard work on the part of all the players.

Having played the team event on Friday, we moved into the individuals’ Champions Trophy tournament on Saturday. In this event secondary students from all over New Zealand who have gone through the rigorous qualification stages, compete on their own behalf and are frequently drawn to play against students from their own school.  Once again this was a stellar success for the HBHS players.  Michael Lin was placed first with 8½/9, winning the trophy, a gold medal and the Power Chess Junior Master Title. This success comes a year after Max Stephens won the 2018 version of the Championship and shows our consistent strength at the very top of the Chess Power league. Max Stephens was our 2nd highest placed player in this event.

All the HBHS players did well over the weekend with further notable successes being Andy Song’s win over a Junior Master from Mt Roskill and Daniel Dizon, our youngest participant, leading the Champions Trophy for the first 3 rounds. Congratulations to the whole team!    

Photo:  The HBHS Chess team shortly after being crowned NZ Secondary Schools Power Chess Champions.

Left to Right:  JM Max Stephens, Andy Song, Nathanael Loy, JM Michael Lin, Joel Crombie, and Sean Clark.