Senior Sports Awards 2021

Congratulations to all of our Senior Sports Awards winners.  We will update the list to include Junior winners when they return to school.

Individual Sporting Codes:


Wade and Paddy Trophy for Top Archer of the Year to Nicholas Geer


Taylor Brothers Cup for Intermediate Hurdles to Kyan Trebes

Thompson Cup for Senior Hurdles to Liam McKee

A D Becks Cup for Senior Sprints (100m) to Henry Palmer

Fergusson Cup for Senior 400m to Joseph Morgan

F Grinter Cup for Senior Field Events to Liam McKee

K A Hudson Cup for 2000m Steeplechase to Liam Davis

T Mills Cup for Senior Distance (3000m) to Joseph Morgan

Oettli Cup for Senior 1500m Champion to Joseph Morgan

R Johnson Cup for Intermediate Champion to Liam Davis

C L McDiarmid Cup for Senior Champion to Liam McKee


Betty Grigg Memorial Cup for Service to Badminton to Pengshen Xu

The Shield for Most Promising Player to Jeff Jia

Canada Cup for Senior Champion to Nithin Perumal


Cameron Cup for Most Improved Senior Premier Player to Elias Lepou

Peter Harvey Memorial Cup for Service to Basketball to Daniel Dobson

Lions Cup for the Senior Premier Player who displays strength, courage, creativity and perseverance to Kobe Tuhakaraina

HBHS Cup for Outstanding Senior Premier Player to Rico Nelson


Aim Trophy for Aim Development Batting to Angus Henry

The Kerry Calnon Trophy for Development Bowling to Bradley Rowell

Nic Jeffs Memorial Trophy for Commitment and Dedication to the Development XI to Nathan Feyter

Patterson Cup for Fielding in 1st XI Cricket to Sam Harris

Morris Cup for Most Improved Player in 1st XI Cricket to George Reeves

1st XI Bowling Trophy for Most Wickets in a Season to Liam Hayman

John Nelson Memorial for Service to Cricket to George Chaplow

1st XI Batting Cup for Batting Aggregate to Payton Spencer

Shane Thomson Trophy for Best All-round Senior Cricketer to Payton Spencer

Cross Country

Malcolm Cup for Intermediate Cross Country Champion to Liam Davis

Wallace Cup for Senior Cross Country Champion to Joseph Morgan

Cue Sports

HBHS Cup for Most Outstanding Player to Rahmatullah Nazari


Milremo Shield for Most Improved Cyclist to Robin Kos

Derek Houghton Award for Most Dedicated Cyclist to Johno O'Brien

Norman Shattock Trophy for Most Outstanding Performer to Reuben Fraser


Jonathan Perry Shirt for Most Improved Senior to Caeden Rogers

English Shirt for the Captain of 1st XI Football to Lemuel Le Hane

Coaches Cup for Most Valuable in 1st XI Football to Kynan McCracken

Shaun Malthus Trophy for Most Improved Player in a Social Grade to Keegan Parrish

Westphal Cup for Service to Football to Kynan McCracken


HBHS Cup for Most Outstanding Senior Player to Daniel Steffert


Alker Shield for Service to Golf to Benjamin Wright

Bryan Boyes Trophy for Senior Champion to Jakob Bird


Roberts Cup for Outstanding Player to Thomas Marchant

Wheeler Cup for Most Improved Player to Aidan Ruffell

Warwick Hartley Memorial for Dedication and Commitment to Ethan Barton

Haydn Steel Master Blaster for Most Goals in Hockey 1st XI to Gus Nelson

The Wells Family Cup for Most Valuable Defender in an Elite Team to Leon du Preez

Inline Hockey

HBHS Cup for Most Outstanding Player to Hanyoung Lee


HBHS Cup for Most Outstanding Player to Benjamin Cowen

Mountain Biking

HBHS Cup for Most Outstanding Cyclist to James MacDermid

Rock Climbing

The Krippner Cup for Top Senior to Oliver Shanks


H and T Loe Trophy for Most Improved Oarsman to Logan Jenner

Gudsell Cup for Senior Leadership to Adam Wilson

Senior Cup for Most Outstanding Senior Oarsman to William Mackintosh

Ross Wilson Cup for Service to Rowing to Simon Dmitrenko

Cameron Cup for Commitment to Excellence to Adam Wilson

Healey Cup awarded to a rower who has persevered over four seasons to progress from limited success to attain results at the highest level to Regan Joyce


Lawson Cup for Best Supporter of HBHS Rugby to Maxie Kemara

International Rugby Player of the Year to Benjamin Russell

James Hook Trophy for Outstanding Goal Kicking to Taha Kemara

Ballymore Ball for Leadership to Sean Ralph and Taha Kemara

Noel Murphy Award for Sportsmanship to Gabe Robinson

L B Sandford Cup for Most Improved Player to Austin Anderson

1st XV Trophy for Most Games for the 1st XV to Taha Kemara

1st XV Cup for Best Back to Taha Kemara

1st XV Trophy for Best Forward to Moses McGoon

Lodge Real Estate Award for 1st XV Player of the Year to Tahlor Cahill

Rugby Sevens

Clark Award for Outstanding Sevens Player to Taha Kemara


Best Sailor to Hugo McMullen


Shotgun for Senior Champion to Timothy Lumsden

Snow Sports

HBHS Cup for Outstanding Contribution to Snow Sports to Maz Curle


HBHS Cup for Top Senior Batter to Nikau Tawha

Softball Club Trophy for Top Senior Pitcher to Kaiana Kohu

Top Glove for Best Fielder to Cody Jones

School Trophy for Most Valued Senior Player to Nikau Tawha


Johnson Cup for Service to Squash to Liam Coombes


Norman Ross Cup for House Swimming Sports to Wilson House

I W Ready Cup for Intermediate Champion to Matthew Bruning and Elijah Singleton

Old Boys’ Challenge Cup for Senior Champion to Carlos Hardie

The Missen Cup for Most Outstanding Performance at NZSS Nationals to Ciaran Watson

Table Tennis

Doc Ales Cup for Outstanding Performer to Lou Dai


Ian Crookenden Cup for Senior Champion to Max Stephens


Senior Cup for Best Senior Player to Taha Kemara


HBHS Cup for Most Outstanding Player to Aki Tupou


Senior Trophy for Player of the Year to Aki Tuivailala

Waka Ama

Paddling Excellence Award for Tama Tu Ki Te Hoe to Kereama Southon


Steven Rolfe Trophy for Most Outstanding Player to Matthew Lander

McKnight Trophy for Service to Waterpolo to Geordie Chapman


HBHS Cup for National Champion and Captain to Bhavraj Waraich

School Award Winners for 2021:

Fairplay Individual of the Year to Daniel Dobson (Basketball)

Fairplay Team of the Year to the Rowing Under 18 Quad

Student Umpire / Referee of the Year to Fabian Scott (Football, Futsal)

Student Coach of the Year to Daniel Dizon (Basketball)

Junior All-Rounder of the Year to Hiraka Waitai-Haenga (Rugby, Sevens, Touch)

Senior All-Rounder of the Year to Payton Spencer (Rugby, Cricket, Athletics)

Junior Team of the Year to the Futsal Junior team and the Under 15 Sevens team

Senior Team of the Year to the Senior Premier Sevens team and the Senior Water Polo team

Junior Sportsman of the Year to Isaac Bates (Football, Futsal)

Senior Sportsman of the Year to Taha Kemara (Rugby, Sevens, Touch)