The 2019 Māori and Pasifika Awards Evening

Māori and Pasifika Awards Evening 2019

On Thursday 24th October HBHS celebrated all of the wonderful achievements of our Māori and Pasifika students.  The performances were powerful and moving, and the sense of pride emanating from all who took the stage was an absolute joy to behold.  Congratulations to our comperes Manasseh Cowley and Leon Leefe, and a huge thank you to everyone who contributed to this very special occasion. 

Academic Awards Junior Winner:

Hugo Barbour (Year 10)                                     Tūhoe

Academic Awards Senior Winner:

Daniel Darlington (Year 13)                              Ngāi Tahu


Service Awards Junior Winner:

Natthanael Lavasi’i (Year 10)                           Samoa

Service Awards Senior Winner:

Richard Neale (Year 13)                                     Ngāti Toa


Cultural Awards Junior Winner:

Wairua Pritchard (Year 10)                               Tūhoe, Lalomanu

Cultural Awards Senior Winner:

Wikiriwhi Rangiawha (Year 13)                       Waikato


Leadership Awards Junior Winner:

Natthanael Lavasi’i (Year 10)                           Samoa

Leadership Awards Senior Winner:

Hakaraia Richards-Coxhead (Year 13)            Te Whānau-a-Apanui, Waikato and Te Arawa


Sporting Awards Junior Winner:

Joshua Edwards (Year 9)                                   Tainui

 Sporting Awards Senior Winner:

Kiaan Watts (Year 13)                                        Te Arawa


Kapa Haka Awards:

Tama Kaha Certificate for greatest improvement to Karipa Grant

Tama Manaaki Certificate for most supportive to Liam Paekau

Whatukura Mareikura Trophy for leadership and skill to Wikiriwhi Rangiawha

Tama Toa Trophy for service to Hiriwa Johnson and Reupene Renata


Special Awards:

He Tohu Manaaki to Wikiriwhi Rangiawha (Year 13)  Waikato

The Good Samaritan Award to Manasseh Cowley (Year 13) Ngāti Hine, Samoa