HBHS Hall of Fame

Established in 2008 to recognize the success of outstanding former students who have made a contribution to New Zealand or on the International stage the Hall of Fame inductees can be from all walks of life and most often excel in their professional career, on the sporting field, in the community, academia or in business.

In researching potential candidates we are constantly amazed by our Old Boys’ successes and it is encouraging to note that many Hall of Fame recipients reflect on their time at HBHS and the values they had instilled in them here as being at the foundation of their success.

Each year we celebrate another group of recipients at an assembly with our current students giving them the opportunity to aspire to greatness as those who have gone before them.

Nominate a HBHS Old Boy
for a future Hall of Fame

Email: [email protected]

Hall of Fame Recipients

Due to COVID disruptions, there were no Hall of Fame events in 2020 or 2021.

Daryl Halligan – International Rugby League

Professor Mike Bevan – Plant Genetics

Chris Thompson – World renowned Musician and performing artist


Greg Heffernan – Culinary

Scott McLeod – Sport

Luit Bieringa – Arts


Craig Baird

Professor Ronald Prinn


Emeritus Professor John Hawk – Medicine

Emeritus Professor John Boys – Engineering

Dick Quax – Sport and Service

Professor Julian Jack – Medicine


Professor John Butcher

Colin Carruthers QC

Ian McCrae


Ivan Pavlovich

Lannes Johnson

Wallace Bain

Arama Kukutai

Rob Flannagan

Dr Matthew During


Alistair Bisley

James Gray

Stephen De Pledge

Ross Boswell

John Bollard

David Hoskin


Warren Cole

Lindsay Wilson

Graeme Rogerson

Graham Lintott

Ron Wiberg

Graeme Searle

Michael Salmon


Bill Falconer

Graham Wilshier

Hon John Luxton

Mike Pohio

Jack (Dufty) Wilson

Leon Narbey

Warren Gatland


Donald Riley

Frederick Jones

John Clough

David Braithwaite


Bill Foreman

Ray Richards

Wendell Phillips